Live Every Day Like It’s Their Last

Ever gotten mad at someone you love over something really small? Yeah, we all do it. It happens to the best of us. Maybe they used the toothpaste the wrong way or didn’t clean the soap. Maybe it’s the way they said something.

Well I was reading somebody’s blog about the death of someone close to them and it made me think. We’ve all heard the expression, “Live every day like it’s your last.” But I thought of it a bit differently, “Live every day like it’s their last.”

It really puts things into perspective for us. When you let a little thing make you angry, or when you’re upset period. If you just think, what if this person I love dies tomorrow? How would I feel? What would I do differently? Would I still be so upset or angry over something so trivial?

For me, I’d definitely do things different. When I’m angry and this thought comes into my mind, it really calms me down. The fragility of life comes to mind. How much I love the person comes to mind. I think of how I take the person for granted and that I shouldn’t. Maybe it doesn’t matter that they used the toothpaste wrong, didn’t clean the soap, or had the wrong tone in their voice.

At this point I usually stop in my tracks, smile and laugh to myself. I think, “This little thing really doesn’t matter.” And I stop making it a big deal. It’s a method I use to try to stop taking those I love most for granted. Anger never does anybody any good.

Life is unpredictable. Life is fragile. Maybe tomorrow won’t be the person’s last day. But death is certain for everybody. Eventually the cold grasp of death will grip you or them. Keep that in mind the next time you sweat the little things. Don’t let your ego control you. Live and love everyday like it’s their last.

What do you think about this? Do you think it could help you in your everyday life? Let me know below.

This entry was posted in philosophy, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

