My Video Gear for the Next 8 Months

If you’re following along or plan to follow along, I’ll be posting pictures and videos of our travels. At the start of our trip, I’m a completely novice filmmaker. I’ll be learning how to use all of the equipment listed here and decided to compile a list so you know exactly what I’m using.

20130903-222427.jpg

Camera
Canon 60D DSLR

Lens
Canon EF-S 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 (Kit lens) with a cheap Chinese brand lens hood that’s doing pretty well so far.

Tripod
A SIRUI tripod with carbon fiber legs. Not exactly sure on the model right now.

Tripod Head
Manfroto 804RC2 3-Way Tripod Head. I bought this thinking it was a fluid head good for video but recently found it’s actually a photography tripod head. Gonna have to find a way to make this work.

SD Card
San Disk Extreme 32GB at 80Mb/s. So far so good.

Pen Brush
I hesitated on buying this and it’s paid off a lot already. On one side of this is a retractable brush for cleaning off big pieces of dust from your lens. The brush isn’t so great, but what is great is the other end. I’m not sure what it’s called but it’s a pen tip that allows you to wipe off fingerprints and anything else from your lens or viewfinder. Super useful!

And that’s all! I don’t even have a proper bag for the gear, so here’s to hoping it’s all good! I’ll probably include some posts about the gear later on, some reviews and how to use it (as I also learn).

This entry was posted in filmmaking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

